taking a portrait with a 4×5

Also known as slow torture for the person sitting for the portrait. I am lucky enough to work with a cluster of burgeoning artists and creative types (i.e., ‘Hello my name is _______, I’ll be your server today). I asked a local painter new to Atlanta, Efrain Cerrato, to be my model and he said, ‘Sure. Why not?’ We met at his studio at the Goat Farm, a sprawling abandoned factory turned artist space, venue and coffee shop, and I laboriously began setting up the trusty old 4×5 view camera. It took two hours, three poses, and countless moments of ‘ok, don’t move, don’t even breath’, but I came away with 8 shots. The following two are the runners up. The portrait to be turned in will be coming in a following post.

Thanks Efrain!

Leave a Reply

